friends of afriabseil

faq's about abseiling in plett

Afri-Abseil – A Great Outdoor Adventure Activity near Plett

Our Afri-Abseil abseiling adventure starts with registration, via ferrata and abseiling briefing at basecamp.

HOW DO I BOOK?
1.Online via our 
BOOK NOW button. 
2.Telephone bookings: (+27) (0) 44 534 8055 or (+27) (0) 82 323 4349

WHAT DOES IT COST, WHAT DOES IT INCLUDE & HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE?
Two trip options:

Option 1: To The Edge & Abseil:
Via Ferrata out to the abseil edge & 50m Abseil to the dry river bank.
Cost ZAR 495 per adult, kids - 16 years ZAR 385
Approx: 1h30m - 2hrs*

• * Trip durations are approximations and will vary according to confidence level and group size.
• Guests need to arrive 30mins prior to the time booked.
• Booking essential as there are a limited number of places per departure time.

WHAT'S THE MINIMUM AGE ALLOWED ON THE TRIP?
Minimium age is 10 yrs old with an accompanying parent.

WHAT ABOUT THE WEATHER?
Weather in the Crags area can be very different to the town of Plettenberg Bay. Contact us if you are concerned.
Cell: 082 323 4349.

WHAT DOES AFRI-ABSEIL SUPPLY?
All adventure equipment. ie. Harness, Helmet, Via Ferrata set.

WHEN MUST I GET THERE?
Please arrive 30mins prior to your booking time for gearing up and a briefing.

HOW LONG DOES THE EXCURSION TAKE?
Option 1
: Via Ferrata Edge Walk & Abseil: Allow approx 1 - 2 hours

* trip durations are approximations and will vary according to group size.
** Guests need to arrive 30 minutes prior to time slot booked.

I’VE NEVER ABSEILED BEFORE, CAN I STILL DO THE TRIP?
Yes you can. No previous abseiling experience is required. We accommodate all levels and complete beginners too. Come along to experience an outdoor adventure and fun, and we'll take you through it.

WHAT MUST I BRING?
Sturdy footwear (no thongs/flip-flops/loose sandles)– sneakers/takkies/closed shoes & your courage.

ARE THERE ANY SHUTTLE SERVICES OR TAXIS TO AND FROM PLETT?
Go James offers round trips between Plett and Africanyon.
Contact: James Potter 076 612 5255 or gojamestransfers@gmail.com

WHERE ARE THE CLOSEST AIRPORTS?
Cemair
flys directly to the Plett Airport from Johannesburg and Cape Town.
George and Port Elizabeth airports both offer the normal range of domestic flights and airlines.

 

WHAT ELSE IS ON OFFER IN THE AREA

Great Things to Do within 5km

Africanyon Canyoning/Kloofing: www.africanyon.com
Birds of Eden: www.birdsofeden.co.za
Brakenburn Crew: www.brakenburncrew.org.za
Cruise The Crags:
www.cruisethecrags.co.za
Forest Nature Spa: www.forestnaturespa.com
The Elephant Sanctuary:
www.elephantsanctuary.co.za
Hog Hollow Horse Trails: www.horseridinggardenroute.com
Garden Route Walks: www.gardenroutewalks.co.za
Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary: www.jukani.co.za
Lawnwood Snake Park: lawnwood@polka.co.za
Monkeyland:
www.monkeyland.co.za
Tenikwa Wildlife Sanctuary:
www.tenikwa.com

Great places to Eat within 5kms

Bramon Wine Estate: www.bramon.co.za
Katarinas restaurant @ Kurland Hotel: www.kurland.co.za
Natures Way Farm Stall: 044 534 8849
The Peppermill Café: 044 534 8844
Newstead Wines: www.newsteadwines.com

Great Places to Stay within 5km's -10km's

Forest Hall Estate: www.foresthallestate.co.za
Hikers cabin: www.hikerscabin.co.za
Hog Hollow:
www.hog-hollow.com
Kurland:
www.kurlandestate.co.za
Lily Pond Country Lodge:
www.lilypond.co.za
Moonshine on Whiskey Creek:
www.whiskeycreek.co.za
Redford House:
www.redfordhouse.co.za
Rocky Road Backpackers:
www.rockyroadbackpackers.com
Tarn Country House:
www.tarn.co.za
That Place:
www.thatplace.co.za
Tranquility Lodge:
www.tranquilitylodge.co.za
Trogan house: www.trogonhouse.co.za
Wild Spirit Backpackers: www.wildspiritlodge.co.za

Further Afield

Adventure Land: www.adventurelandplett.co.za
Budget Getaways: www.budget-getaways.co.za
Bungy jumping: www.faceadrenalin.com
Coast to Coast: www.coasttocoast.co.za
Emily Moon: www.emilymoon.co.za 
Enrico’s Restaurant: www.enricorestaurant.co.za
Enrico’s Fishing Charters: www.enricosfishing.co.za
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages: www.fynbosridge.co.za
Jamin Adventures: www.jaminadventures.com
Knysna Elephant Park: www.knysnaelephantpark.co.za
Learn to Surf: www.learntosurfplett.co.za
Le Fournil - French Bakery and Restaurant: lefournil@mweb.co.za
Lemon Grass Restaurant at Milkwood Manor: www.lemongrassplett.co.za
LM Restaurant: www.lmplett.co.za
Ocean Blue Adventures: www.oceanadventures.co.za
Offshore Adventures: www.offshoreadventures.co.za
Plett Birding Route: www.plettbirdingroute.co.za
Plett Game Reserve: www.plettenbergbaygamereserve.co.za
Plett Villas: www.plettvillas.co.za
Radical Raptors: www.radicalraptors.co.za
Skydive Plett: www.skydiveplett.com

The Fat Fish: www.thefatfish.co.za
The Table: www.thetable.co.za

Plettenberg Bay Backpackers & Self Catering

Abalone Beach House: www.abalonebeachhouse.co.za
African Array Backpackers: www.africanarraylodge.co.za
Albergo Backpackers: www.albergo.co.za 
Amakaya Backpackers: www.amakaya.co.za
Backpackars Beach House: www.backpackersbeachhouse.co.za 
Northando Backpackers: www.nothando.co.za
Stone Cottage Backpackers: www.stonecottage.co.za

Useful Contacts

The Alternative Route: www.alternativeroute.net
Coast to Coast Backpackers Guide to SA: www.coasttocoast.co.za
Dirty Boots Adventure Guide: www.dirtyboots.co.za
Go James Transfers: James Potter: Ph. 076 6122522 or email: gojamestransfers@gmail.com
 

BACK TO TOP OF PAGE

find out about abseiling in plett
go abseiling in plett
facebook2
twitter
instagram1
frequently asked questions
directions to afriabseil
about afriabseil
afriabseil news
abseiling adventure

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Security Policy

instagram

Afri-Abseil is an activity owned and managed by AfriCanyon PTY Ltd.

The Crags
Plettenberg Bay
South Africa
Tel: 044 534 8055 | Cell: 082 323 4349
info@afriabseil.com | www.afriabseil.com

facebook1
twitter
vimeo
go-kloofing-plett
in-the-mix sancobb stuart-brink-films mountain-leadership covarr-design daron-chatz-films glenn-murray-photography hola-cafe frequently asked questions directions to afriabseil about afriabseil afriabseil news abseiling adventure adventure activities abseiling SAYTC-logo plett-its-a-feeling tours-and-transport go-kloofing-plett